What’s wrong with being a Wise Latina?

NEW GUEST ARTICLE AT THE ORLANDO SENTINEL’S HISPANOSPHERE

ARTICLE EXCERPT:

As I now live in this country, where we’re bombarded by inaccurate Latina characterizations, I try to hold on to this image of my grandmother –the strong, wise matriarch I knew– as I define myself and guide my teenage daughter into adulthood.

I couldn’t help but remember that image as I watched Sonia Sotomayor face the GOP’s old boys club during the recent confirmation hearings. They charged off, like hounds, barking up her “wise Latina” quote –which was blatantly taken out of context– in a futile attempt to obscure the fact that she’s superbly qualified for the position.

READ THE ENTIRE PIECE AT:

Orlando Sentinel’s HispanoSphere

[All text and images ©2009 Elianne Ramos]

Leave a Reply

